Why am I a volunteer rescue transporter?

Freedom Ride

Freedom Ride

Have you ever watched and felt helpless during a situation you really wished you could do something about? Wondered how you could make something better? Worried that you couldn’t help, or felt that because you didn’t have extra money there was nothing you could do?

Until recently, I watched, wondered, worried and felt sorry for all those sweet, innocent darlings that were being tortured in high-kill shelters located not so far away from where I live.  Granted, they were not in my backyard, but they were certainly way too close and I honestly felt there must be a way to help!

I run a small business in Colborne, Ontario … the little town that nobody knows about, except those that get stuck here overnight, or live here by choice … I couldn’t do much, but I definitely could make and donate one of my creations.  So, that’s exactly what I did.  What normally sells in my shop for $35.00 – $45.00 went into auction and sold for $80.00!!!  I was so excited that I made another one … and another one … and then some other items too!  I got even more excited when I learned that first piece was almost enough to save TWO fur-babies from that shelter!

Of course, with this level of excitement and all the wonderful comments coming in from the people who were bidding on the donated pieces, I got even more involved, started to meet those people when they came in to pick up their item … and was invited to group dinner.  That was it, I was hooked … for the next 4 hours we laughed, planned, shared animal stories and I was part of the team, just like that.  Let me tell you, I’ve never felt more like I had sisters in all my life.  I was blessed with a brother, but always wanted a sister; now I have a dozen of them!

So, every week, I am part of a large group of men and women who work literally around the clock to raise the funds necessary to pay the pull fees at the pound/shelter, then arrange the volunteers to transport them.  It takes about 8 hours to transport, requiring 6 or 7 drivers who use their own vehicles, gas and time to do it.  We take such pride in these transports, and take so many pictures of the animals that you might actually believe they belonged to each driver.  We keep in constant contact with the entire team, the rescues and foster parents, all day long.

For me personally, I make a collage of all the animals at the end of my part of the run, which is a good place to be in due to the fact that there is usually only one more driver after me and I can grab all the shared photos from through out the day.  Such as this one …  Where we worked so hard that we saved ELEVEN darlings in ONE day!!

18Oct2014_FreedomRide_11saved

Stay tuned for more blogs, it is the intention to bring these to you as often as I can … between my day job, my business, book-keeping for K9 Crusaders, helping with fund-raising, helping to organize and attend events, volunteering to drive a leg on the transport, fostering some of the rescues AND helping to get them adopted into their forever homes!  Oh yes, I also have children and a young grand-child … so, if you think there is nothing you can do to help, especially if you are already too busy, I am here to tell you there is room in all our lives to give a little to those who can’t do it for themselves.

Love and light, blessings to all.

Leave a comment