UPDATED: Bernese Rottie: Your dollars, and what they do!

FREEDOM RIDE!! – 26 OCTOBER 2014

Jaxin
Our latest rescue, Jaxin, the shy and fearful Rottie/Bernese X, (who it’s safe to say has some Chow in there too, with that blue tongue) made his way to our loving arms today. He is looking far less shy and fearful now that he is out of the shelter, and we had quite a few volunteer drivers on hand to great him when he arrived!

VFD_26Oct2014

Thank you to the always amazing, and highly professional transport team who give up their evenings and weekends to help bring these precious animals from the shelters in QC to safety here in ON. Our ever-growing village of animal volunteers and advocates is quite something to behold

What to say about Jaxin?  “He’s beautiful, huge, and he was such a good boy too! So eager to watch everything that went by one minute, then sound asleep the next. GIANT kisses that knocked your glasses up sideways and take your hat off your head. ROFL … bundle of love.”

Jaxin is now relaxing in his new foster home, and his Foster parent has already introduced him to what he should have always known!  The pictures above say it all about this boy, he loves to lounge outside in the tall grass!  Jaxin and his pack brother, the beagle, are happily resting in their new home and will see the vet for check-up in the next couple of days.  As always, stay tuned and we will keep you posted on his progress!

24 OCTOBER 2014 – Sponsored

https://www.facebook.com/pages/K9-Crusaders/1986481644824406?fref=ts

***CODE RED*** Berbese /Rottie cross

This 6 year old male Rottie/Bernese cross that was posted earlier in the week remains in need of rescue with a deadline of TOMORROW. K9C has offered to take this sweet boy, who has been assessed as shy and fearful, into our care in order to save his life and we will be looking for a suitable foster home for him until he can be fully vetted, further assessed and his forever home found. Please send us a message here, or on our Facebook page K9 Crusaders, if you are interested in fostering this, or any other animal with us and we will send you out a foster application right away. Stay tuned for updates as this situation progresses.

My Story: 

Although they don’t know my name, and I cannot tell them, I was found as a stray, and I am an intact male.  I am about 6 years old, and I’m a little shy, but who would blame me as I have been wandering around and wondering why I don’t have a human like other dogs do.  I will let you touch my paws and tummy, but am even more relaxed when you want to touch my face, nose, ears and neck.  I really get a little scared when you manipulate my hips and tail, and I’m afraid when other dogs come too close.  I promise to do my best, but strangers scare me a little bit, and when you give me food, I promise I will just take it slowly.  Really, I love my toys, and love to walk so much I pull at my leash to make you go just a little fast … we have places to see you know!  I’m a good boy, and I will show you, if you let me, and I really don’t bark much at all.”

About my breed

The Bernese Rottie is a cross between a purebred Bernese Mountain Dog and a purebred Rottweiler. A large dog given to relaxing and lounging when not at work. It is inactive indoors, but due to its size, still requires space in which to move freely. It is ideal for suburban and rural areas, rather than urban living. The Bernese Mountain Dog is one of the four Sennenhund, or dogs of the Swiss herdsmen working the mountainous pastures of the Alps. Large and heavy, with a double coat to protect it from harsh weather, the Bernese Mountain Dog was traditionally bred to guard property and drive livestock from the farms to the market
Thank you!

Leave a comment