UPDATE #1: THEO (aka: Love Lump), the kitty

Pound Photo

Pound Photo before Rescue

01 November 2014 – My name is THEO, and I do not know why but I was surrendered to a Quebec high-kill by gas shelter by my owner.  As far as I know, I was a good and loving boy, and I thought I was going to be happy for the rest of my life because my owner had taken away my claws and had me neutered.  This is so confusing to me, I didn’t deserve to go to kitty jail, but the nice people at TEAM Cat Rescue sponsored me so I got to stay safe for awhile longer.

I sat in that kitty prison for a long time, weeks and weeks, but one day a lovely lady fell in love with me and told the people that fed me every day that I could go for a really love car ride, far, far away, and I would have a nice new collar, and a soft bed and a human that would love me and take good care of me.  I was SO happy! Today, I got to go on my Freedom Ride and to visit with a nice man who said he was my Temporary Foster Dad.  Oh boy, I really liked Darren, and I gave him so many cuddles, hugs and even found my purr!  I have such a tiny purr, and Darren wants you to know that if you can’t hear me when I purr, that you should put your fingers under my chin and you can feel it there. I got to see the nice doctor and then I stayed with Darren for a whole week before the big Freedom Ride where I was supposed to go to Toronto.  Wow, that’s really far, and there was a lot of really nice people that kept telling me I was beautiful lucky boy, and somebody is going to be so lucky when they adopt me!

A really funny thing happened on the night of my big Freedom Ride, it was quite late in the day, and a new lady came to see me.  I thought it was really funny, that there was another kitty in another crate that looked exactly like me … it was really kind of like looking in a mirror.  The lady and her friend did something called an investigation because I didn’t have any paperwork with me, and when they let me out of the crate I was so happy to have them hold me that I gave the new lady a big huge!  I put my paws around her neck, and rubbed my head on her chin … and she started to cry and told me she could really love me.  That was nice of her, and I hugged a little bit better and really hoped this lady would never put me down.  Sadly, she put me back in the crate and did the investigation on my mirror image, and when she put him back in the crate the two ladies had a talk and decided to take me home.  I was a little confused when she called me by a new name, but I didn’t say anything because she looked so happy to take me with her.

Theo_1November2014

THEO, with his new collar

We went for a little bit of a car ride, and then she brought me into this really big place with no bars, and she showed me a big clean litter box and all the food I could ever want.  Oh my goodness, I didn’t think it got much better than that, but she didn’t make me go away when I had my dinner and jumped up onto her lap!  I had a little nap, and then the big white dog came over to find out who I was and I got a little afraid and ran away into another room.  WOW … there was a really big soft bed in there, and it was so warm too.  It wasn’t long before the lady ran out of the house saying she would be back before long, so I had a good nap.  She did come back too, and she brought me a brand new collar with a bell on it.  Amazing, I love my new collar, it’s shiny at night and such a bright red that it really goes nicely with my fur.  I’m all black, right to my toes, you know.

The lady said her name was Kim, and that I could stay for awhile, but she had to talk to the angel lady and find out what the plan was.  Turns out when Kim went running out the door, and she came back, she brought a fur brother with her for me to play with.  Now things start to make sense, because my fur brother’s name is Salem and I heard her telling her human child that Salem was the cat that was supposed to live here, but there was confusion about which kitty I was.  Isn’t it funny how things work out?  Not only do I get to stay, but now I have a brother to run around with too.

IMG_20141103_001431

Rolling in the dust!

IMG_20141106_030300

Salem wants to play, but I’m busy … keeping the pillow warm!

This is me and my fur-brother, Salem.  He thinks I should play all the time, but my favorite place is in the blankets of the big bed.  I like to sit beside the birdcage sometimes, but the bird makes this singing noise and wakes me up.  When that happens, I go sit on top of the china cabinet … Kim says it was horrible that a pure black cat had to show her how she forgot to clean the dust from the ceiling repair off the top.  I didn’t mind though … can you see what she is talking about? Anyway, I get to hang out around here until my foster family sends for me, and the only other best thing that could happen is if my furever family called instead!

UPDATE ~ 11 November 2014:
THEO_11Nov2014GUESS WHAT … GUESS WHAT!  I’ve got such good news!  Kim was talking to TEAM Cat Rescue about me, and she said I could stay here as long as it takes!  It’s official, no more car rides except to the vet, no more car rides until somebody falls in love and wants to adopt me!! 

I was so excited that I came out from under the blankets and helped my new Foster Mom fill in the paperwork to make it all official.  She said it would have gotten done a lot faster if I wasn’t head butting her elbow all the time, so I laid down on her lap and rolled about so she would give me a back rub and head scratch … sheesh, she only needs one hand to write ya know!  We were so tired after than that we cuddled and fell asleep instead of watching the movie, but that’s ok, that happens every night anyway.

Today, I decided since I can unpack my luggage and stay awhile, I would come out and play.  That’s when the neatest thing happened … I made noise, and Foster Mom said I was talking.  She was so happy to hear me make that strange noise that she kept trying to get me to do it … she said if I kept trying that I would learn where my purr was hiding.  What the heck is that?  A purr?  Is she serious?  Is that something that’s good?  Oh well, if it makes her happy, I will keep trying … but for now, she just filled the food dish and my furry brother and two sisters need to stand aside while I test out the grub.  Chat soon …

Leave a comment